Explore Old Hog Island Florida
Hog Island Caladesi Island - State Park Clearwater Gulf Of Mexico Clearwater Bay Huricane Pass Honeymoon Island - State Park

Hog Island

There was once a large barrier island directly west of our restaurant called Hog Island, where settlers in the 1800s attempted to raise pigs (hogs). But in 1921, a hurricane split the island in two, prompting the town of Dunedin to rename the South Island Caladesi in 1928 and a developer to lure visitors to the north island in the 1940s by calling it Honeymoon Island. Even so, folks around here do not let history fade too quickly, and old-timers still referred to Caladesi as Hog Island into the 1970s.

Caladesi Island - State Park

One of the few untouched islands along the Gulf Coast, Caladesi Island State Park is accessible only by boat, but is worth the extra effort. Whether it is a stroll along the island’s pristine beaches or a kayak trip through the bayside mangrove forest, a trip to Caladesi Island is an unforgettable experience.



Early settlers called it Clear Water Harbor, by which it was known until 1895 when Clearwater became one word. Harbor was dropped in 1906.

Spanish explorer Panfilo de Narvaez came to the Pinellas peninsula in 1528. The exact place he first stepped is disputed, but may have been Clear Water Harbor. Narvaez later perished in a storm after crossing Florida on foot with a party of soldiers.

In 1539, Hernando De Soto landed at Tampa Bay. He later died near the headwaters of the Mississippi River. Pedro Menendez arrived in 1567 searching for a route across Florida. He brought 10 missionaries to establish missions throughout the area. One of their Jesuit missions was established at Safety Harbor. Those who remained with this mission later perished in battles with the natives, who had been mistreated by previous exploration parties. White settlers did not return to this area until the 1800s

Florida became a territory in 1822. During the Seminole Indian Wars of 1835, the government built the original Fort Harrison as a recuperation Center for soldiers, and not as a defensive fort. It was located on the bluffs where Harbor Oaks is now. The fort was abandoned in 1841, and is commemorated by a plaque on Druid Road in downtown Clearwater.

Gulf Of Mexico

Just some of the great eating from the waters of the Golf is served at Hog Island Fish Camp: Hogfish • Red Snapper • Grouper • Wahoo • Spanish Mackerel • Mahi-Mahi • Tuna • King Mackerel • Sharks • Vermillion Snapper • Triggerfish • Amberjack (AKA Reef Donkey) • Crevalle Jack • Sheepshead • Red Drum • Gulf Flounder • Cobia • Tarpon

Clearwater Bay

There is also a Clearwater Bay in Hong Kong.

Huricane Pass

The section of Hog Island a Hurricane ripped through in 1921 to create two separate Islands known today as Caladesi and Honeymoon Island.

Honeymoon Island - State Park

In the late 1930s, a businessman named Clinton Washburn purchased the island. While lunching with a friend who was the editor of Life magazine, he made the comment that the island would make a wonderful site for a honeymoon. The Life editor ran the story and Honeymoon Island was born.